Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

famas issue

:

Doctor's Corner

Old February 12th, 2006, 12:58   #1
msg-90sniper

famas issue

ok, Ive been using my stock FAMAS for atleast 5 months now with a 9.6V 3300 mAh battery, so yeah it been worked hard, im just wondering how long my motor will last? im going to stop using 9.6's now cuz i want my gun to last before i have to customize ithe VerI gearbox to take EG1000's :x that'll suck :-x 8O
msg-90sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2006, 13:04   #2
ze641

that battery is WAY to powerful for that gun if it is stock... its just a matter of time until you strip your gears or your piston.

anyway, if your gun is stock, imediatly stop using that battery, its way too powerful for it.

the famas is claimed to last around 10-15 years(stock, absolutely nothing done to it, no overpowering batteries, perfect care, etc.)

but if you use that powerful battery in a stock famas i am surprised your gears haven't stripped already.
ze641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2006, 14:28   #3
Drake
E-01

Okay it's a 9.6v battery, not 12v. You may have put some extra wear on your gears depending on how often you played, but not really insta-strip worthy unless you really abused it (5 months was what... used daily? weekly? once a month? Go through 10+ hicaps/game?)

Either way, the motor's fine, it'll take more than that to kill it. What's most likely to show wear is the teeth on the plastic piston (can be replaced with a Systema v2/v3 piston).

But yeah, stop using that battery. Even upgraded, the FAMAS runs fine on 8.4v (I'm using a PDI140% in mine)

As for fitting an EG1000 in there, good luck with that unless you plan on adding an extra inch to the ass end of the gun, cuz there's no other way it'll fit.
Old February 12th, 2006, 16:08   #4
msg-90sniper