Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Brand new WA SCW v.2 1911... So many problems

:

Doctor's Corner

Old October 30th, 2005, 16:44   #1
PorkFat

Unhappy Brand new WA SCW v.2 1911... So many problems

I'm new to the Airsoft thing and I think I may be turned off already. I've been plinking on a springer for some time now and decided to go all out with my first real purchase. Since I wanted something to emulate practicing with my real guns, but at home, I went with the Western Arms Smith and Wesson 1911 from WGC.

http://www.wgcshop.com/pcart/shopper...566ea56945edef

I also picked up some BBs and 134 gas from Jungletoys and both came in on the same day. 3 days shipping from Hong Kong!

So I tear it open and load up some BBs and then run into my first problem. The genius who designed the magazine made the mag bumper too deep to fill with gas. So I take it off to fill it up and it all worked out fine. After a while of doing this I got fed up and cut it in half to reduce the depth. That worked fine until the I bumped the magazine bumper and the spring retaining indent part broke off. So I fabricated a new one from wood and all was good again.

Well, sort of. See, throughout all of this my magazine would always catch at the last 2 or 3 rounds and not feed unless I removed the magazine, flicked the follower down and let it go up and replaced the mag.

On top of that the hop up system seems to be wonky. When the muzzle facing away from you, the hop up adjuster all the way to the right makes the gun shoot about a mile too high. All the way to the left makes it hit point-of-aim but it can't be adjusted any more. There's about 11-12 clicks of adjustment in that little hex screw and it's maxed out.